Services Directory

« Back to previous page

« Back to previous page

Canal de Soulanges
While rolling on the cycle path that follows it, you will see the locks that enabled the ships to go from downriver to upriver. Or vice-versa. Don't miss the "Petit pouvoir", a former hydroelectric plant built in bricks and located between the canal and the St. Lawrence River.

At the east end of the canal, you will be close to the Théâtre des Cascades (in french only). It is located in what is, according to many, the more beautiful summer theatre site in province of Québec. At the other end, take advantage of your presence to visit the Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site. There, you will be able to see, among others, some remnants of a fort.

Built between 1892 and 1899, this canal links Les Coteau to Pointe-des-Cascades. Until 1959, it allowed ships to overcome the Saint-Lawrence River rapids. It becames obsolete due to the opening of the St. Lawrence seaway. Boats do not navigate on it anymore, but cyclists enjoy its flat banks!
45.309861 -74.136321
  • Canal de Soulanges
  • Canal de Soulanges
  • Canal de Soulanges

Répertoire des services

« Retour à la page précédente

« Retour à la page précédente

Canal de Soulanges
En roulant sur la piste cyclable qui longe ce vénérable canal, vous pourrez apercevoir quelques anciennes écluses grâce auxquelles les bateaux passaient de l'amont à l'aval. Ou vice-versa. Ne manquez pas, également, le "Petit pouvoir", une ancienne centrale hydroélectrique en brique située entre le canal et le fleuve Saint-Laurent

À l'extrémité est du canal, vous passerez près du Théâtre des Cascades. Plusieurs considèrent qu'il s'agit du plus beau site de théâtre d'été au Québec. À l'autre extrémité, profitez de votre passage pour visiter le Lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac. Vous pourrez y voir, entre autres, les vestiges d’un fort.

Construit entre 1892 et 1899, ce canal relie Les Coteaux à Pointe-des-Cascades. Jusqu'en 1959, il permettait aux navires de franchir les rapides du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'ouverture de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent l'a rendu obsolète. Il n'est donc plus en fonction. Les bateaux n'y circulent plus, mais les cyclistes, eux, s'en donnent à cœur joie!
45.309861 -74.136321
  • Canal de Soulanges
  • Canal de Soulanges
  • Canal de Soulanges